WA Nursing & Midwifery Excellence Awards finalists announced

on 18 March 2020

Finalists for the 17th annual WA Nursing & Midwifery Excellence Awards have been announced which recognises the achievements of midwives and nurses in Western Australia.

30 nurses and midwives, and four nursing and midwifery teams have been shortlisted for 12 categories, each being nominated by colleagues and patients.

Categories for the awards are:

  • Excellence in Leadership
  • Excellence in Education and Research
  • Excellence in Enrolled Nursing
  • Excellence in Rural and Remote Health
  • Excellence in Aboriginal Health
  • Excellence in Midwifery
  • Graduate of the Year
  • Excellence in Person Centred Care – Team Award
  • Excellence in Primary, Public and Community Care
  • Excellence in Registered Nursing
  • Consumer Appreciation Award

The WA Nursing & Midwifery Excellence Awards have been organized and coordinated by the Department of Health on behalf of private, public and non-government workplaces.

The event will announce the 2020 winner of the Lifetime Achievement Honour which is a separate category from the WA Nursing & Midwifery Excellence Award categories.

The recipient of this award will be assessed by an independent panel for consideration based on their length of service and extraordinary contribution to the nursing and midwifery professions which exceeds what is normally achieved.

Western Australia has approximately 35,000 nurses and midwives who play a pivotal role in providing compassionate, safe and cost-effective care.

Winners of the WA Nursing & Midwifery Excellence Awards and the recipient of the 2020 Lifetime Achievement Honour will be announced later in the year.

More information about the award nominees can be found here.